Getting Psyched

Standard

I am currently trying to focus even more on the psychological aspect of running since my marathon is only a week away.  (HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE?!?!?)  I finally bit the bullet and bought painfully overpriced pictures of myself at the San Antonio half marathon I completed in November.  It was such an incredible experience and I don’t think I could have felt any better had I conquered Mt. Everest itself.  I’m hoping the memories of that day and the euphoria I felt all week will give me some positive energy as I enter into my last week of training.

Literally about 60 seconds after crossing the finish line. Elated, thirsty and exhausted, as yo ucan see by my half closed eye.

While excitedly swapping stories with another runner about our experiences running the half marathon in San Antonio, I was shocked to find out that I was oblivious to a lot of what most people would consider to be “you can’t miss it” attractions.  To illustrate, I never knew I ran right in front of the Alamo.  I’ve been to the Alamo a couple of times and am familiar with the Riverwalk area, but I was on such a goofy high the whole time, often running with a crazy grin on my face, that it was like I was on another planet.  How do you miss the Alamo??  Or the alleged giant arch of pink balloons that every runner ran under?  I did see video of me running right in front of the Alamo, so I can’t argue that I must have been on the detour route.

Anyway, I hope that I am not in too much misery to enjoy the marathon.  I’m sure the first 15 miles will be bearable, but that’s about the point when my hip flexors, piriformis muscle (I finally figured out the cause of my butt pain!!), iliotibial band (another kink in the system that I’m learning about) and hamstrings all join forces and start to rage against the machine.

Where's Waldo. I should offer a prize to anyone who can find me. (Look just to the right of center.)

So since I am on my positive thinking campaign, I will leave you with a thought of encouragement:

About virginmarathoner

I'm 32, about to be 33, and realizing that I only have one life to live. This gradual but recent epiphany has inspired me make choices to face the things that I thought I could never do, but secretly desired to accomplish. The first of these was to train for my first half marathon, terrified that I would never be able to run past 7 miles (my longest run prior to beginning training). The first day I ran 8 miles, I cried the entire last mile...with a smile on my face. I'm sure it was a curious sight for any one of the hundreds of soccer moms and little toddlers crowding and blocking my path that morning at the park. Each time I ran a new distance, I felt empowered and proud of my determination and dedication. The day of the half marathon I knew I was addicted. Running gave me clarity, discipline and a renewed passion for living. Now I am about to embark on a new adventure, running my first marathon, and hope that others will be able to relate to my adventures, struggles and mishaps along the way. Afterall, we've only got one life to live, so we better get on it.

Leave a Reply

