Bring it.

Standard

It’s finally here!  I’m on my way! So wish me luck and start to pray!  😉

Up at 4:40am for a quick breakfast of oatmeal and lots of water with electrolytes.  My friend is driving me to the start line since she only lives a mile or so away.  Luckily for me she has two little girls who have lots of leftover valentine candy so I have packets of fruit snacks and nerds stashed into my belt just in case I need a quick sugar pick-me-up late in the game.

I’m so excited but a little nervous…I have been flip-flopping between images of myself bouncing across the finish line full of energy, arms raised in a Rocky-like victory, and limping painfully across and puking in front of hundreds of spectators. I was awake at 2:20am worried my cell phone alarm and watch alarm would somehow choose today as their day to malfunction.   Hmmmm.   I will be working on the positive imagery from here on out.  I AM A MARATHONER!  I AM A MARATHONER!!  I’M EXCITED! I’M EXCITED! I’M EXCITED!

“The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena; whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again; who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, and spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end triumph of high achievement; and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those scared and timid souls who know neither victory nor defeat”.   -Theodore Roosevelt

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing. To keep our faces toward change and behave like free spirits in the presence of fate is strength undefeatable.”  -Helen Keller

“Why, O Jacob, do you say, and declare, O Israel, ‘My way is hidden from the Lord and my right is disregarded by my God?’  Do you not know or have you not heard?  The Lord is the eternal God, creator of the ends of the earth.  He does not faint nor grow weary, and his knowledge is beyond scrutiny.  He gives strength to the fainting, for the weak he makes vigor abound.  Though young men faint and grow weary, and youths stagger and fall, they that hope in the Lord will renew their strength, they will soar as with eagle’s wings; they will run and not grow weary, walk and not grow faint.”  -Isaiah 40:27-31

“The price of success is hard work, dedication to the job at hand, and the determination that whether we win or lose, we have applied the best of ourselves to the task at hand. ” ~ Vince Lombardi
About virginmarathoner

I'm 32, about to be 33, and realizing that I only have one life to live. This gradual but recent epiphany has inspired me make choices to face the things that I thought I could never do, but secretly desired to accomplish. The first of these was to train for my first half marathon, terrified that I would never be able to run past 7 miles (my longest run prior to beginning training). The first day I ran 8 miles, I cried the entire last mile...with a smile on my face. I'm sure it was a curious sight for any one of the hundreds of soccer moms and little toddlers crowding and blocking my path that morning at the park. Each time I ran a new distance, I felt empowered and proud of my determination and dedication. The day of the half marathon I knew I was addicted. Running gave me clarity, discipline and a renewed passion for living. Now I am about to embark on a new adventure, running my first marathon, and hope that others will be able to relate to my adventures, struggles and mishaps along the way. Afterall, we've only got one life to live, so we better get on it.

One response »

Leave a Reply

